Things keep getting better

It’s been just over a month since I gave up my office and started staying home with the kids.  In three weeks, pre-school starts again for Wildling.

I don’t really know how to evaluate my time at home.  I’m sleeping more, I’m now (as of a week ago) doing yoga everyday, so I think I’m getting healthier.  I let the kids sleep until they wake up on their own (6:45 for Mellow, usually 8:45 for Wildling), which I think is good for them.  We go to the library weekly and read a lot of books, so that’s good for their development (side note: Parents, the Elephant and Piggie books by Mo Willems are actually funny – if you’re stuck reading the same thing over and over, choose one of those).

The house is gradually getting cleaner and less cluttered.  I have a goal of achieving a base level of cleanliness so that we just have to work on maintenance.  I think the secret to an actually clean house is getting the whole thing clean once and then afterwards just putting stuff away as you use it.  It’s hard to convey that to Wildling, who is so easily distracted and who believes as long as her messes are in different rooms she doesn’t have to clean them up (but Mama, I’m working out here now, so I don’t have to clean the bedroom). We haven’t achieved that base yet, but we’re getting there.

I have been making our bed everyday.  It sounds kind of weird to me, because I’ve always been one of those people who figures I’m going to sleep in the same place and in the same sheets that night, so why bother?  Then I read a couple of articles talking about cleanliness and the habits of successful people, and making the bed kept getting mentioned, so I figured I’d try it.  It turns out that I like it.  It makes the room look neater and better put together.  It’s nice to go in at night and feel like I’m entering a clean and relaxing space.  Plus, it turns out it takes less than two minutes to do.

Wildling and I have been doing art projects.  We painted a bunch of rocks for our fairy village project, which is unfortunately stalled while we look for the perfect clay pots to house the village.  We’ve painted and colored and drawn things and made objects out of perler beads (warning: those things scatter all over the place if you leave them within reach of an inquisitive toddler).  Will and Wildling did a crystal growing experiment, and this week we’re going to tie-dye some shirts. It’s been fun.  She calls herself an artist, and I want to encourage that because I love to see her express her creativity.

Pre-school starts again on the 19th, so things are going to change around here again.  I don’t know what to expect.  I don’t know how much I’ll be able to get done for myself, and I don’t know how Mellow is going to react to not having her sister to play with all day.  It should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

