Random anti-soda rant

I get tired of hearing people talk about the ‘mommy wars’ as though moms aren’t too busy to waste their time on crap like that.  Guess what? Most of us are.  I don’t care how you raise your kid, how many hours you work, whether you breast or bottle feed, or anything like that.  I do care, from an environmental standpoint, if you cloth diaper or not, but I’m not going to say anything about it.  Not my kids, not my problem.

Except there is one thing about how others raise their children that does bother me: soda.  Seriously, your toddler doesn’t need a coke, ever.  Soda should be an occasional treat for a grown up or much older child.  Nobody should drink soda daily, and I don’t think kids should have one ever.  A few weeks ago at the San Diego Zoo, I saw a young kid, maybe eight years old, and his height and diameter were pretty much the same.  He was huffing and puffing and complaining his way up on of the hills there, with a giant soda in his hand.  No kid with functioning legs and lungs and a heart should be struggling like that to make it up a hill.  Even Wildling could do it, and she is three (though admittedly she was crying the whole time because she was hungry and her legs were tired and we needed to take Mellow out of the stroller so she could ride in it instead of on the running board).  But this kid couldn’t, and I could tell from looking at him that the soda wasn’t just an occasional treat for him, it was a staple part of his diet.  So, yes, I judge his parents.  Both of them, not just his mother, so maybe this doesn’t count as ‘mommy wars.’

I’ve never been a big soda drinker myself.  An occasional rum and coke at the bar, but that’s it, and I haven’t had one in a long time.  When Will and I first started dating, he drank soda, but he gave it up so long ago that I can’t even remember what kind he liked.  I recently read the book Sugar Fat Salt by Michael Moss.  While before I didn’t really care for soda, after reading that book, I’m actually kind of opposed to soda in general.  It’s bad for your body, it’s bad for your mind, it’s bad for everything, plus there is no real reason to consume it.  Soda is never he answer. Thirsty? Drink water. Hungry? Eat food. Feel like rotting your teeth out with empty calories? Ok, maybe soda is the answer to that one.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

